(First Blog Post) Winter Anime 2017 What I Think/Wrap-Up (Part 1)

Screenshot (7)

This is my first blog post so please give me constructive criticism on how to improve this blog, but in a nutshell I have many opinions about anime (as well as manga) and I want to throw my thoughts about this current season of anime, which is currently wrapping up. As of the posting of this blog, the season should be wrapped up in less than two weeks, but my overall thoughts of this anime season was that it was pretty average to somewhat fine. I definitely do like this season more than the Fall 2016 season, which I personally thought was trash, but that is probably because I was burned out by the end of 2016.

This season didn’t have a mass quantity of amazing shows, but of the 8 shows I’ve kept up with this Winter, 7 out of the 8 shows have ranged from being pretty good to pretty great. The only show that I think wasn’t either good or great was Tales of Zestiria the X 2nd Season, which is currently going downhill as of this blog post. So it is about time I give my piece/quick thoughts on each show:

WARNING: POSSIBLE MINOR TO MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD

konosuba trash

Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 (KonoSuba: God’s Blessing on This Wonderful World! 2): I will start with arguably the most popular show of the season and probably my favorite, KonoSuba S2. It just wrapped up a few days ago and I will say that season 2 is arguably even funnier than season 1. Comedy is subjective, most fiction is subjective, but this season of KonoSuba made me laugh every episode pretty fucking hard, which no other comedy anime series has done. Needless to say, this show is gnarly.

Somehow our main cast of Kazuma (Kazutrash aka Scumlord), Megumin (even more EXPLOOSION!!), Darkness (as masochistic as ever), and Aqua (still a useless goddess) got even worse with their tendencies between season 1 and 2, in a good way. The show still looks terribad (Studio Deen back at it again) but we all know it is intentional and is used to the appeal of KonoSuba. Episode 4 is definitely a highlight since it has a different director for the episode and somehow looked even worse than usual, but that is still my favorite episode in the entire series. Overall this show was a fucking blast, I can only give it my highest recommendation. Hopefully season 3 can get an announcement later this year.

Overall Score: 9.5/10

3 gatsu no lion

3-gatsu no Lion (March comes in like a lion): I will be talking about the second half of this show more or less, but my quick thoughts on the first cour was that it was adorable and heartbreaking at the same time, fucking great emotional ride. This show is finishing up tomorrow, but this series has been so consistently good that I believe the final episode will be good, so I can give my take on it. In my opinion, I like this second half more than the first half. Now I know that can be controversial since people have gotten pissed that the Kawamoto sisters haven’t gotten as much screen time as they did in the first half of the show, but I think it was a risk that was taken and ended up succeeding.

The first half focused on Rei and the Kawamoto sisters along with shogi mixed in, but the second half focuses almost exclusively on the sport of shogi, as well as fleshing out a lot more of the side characters, including introducing a new character named Kai Shimada. I believe he is arguably the best character of this series as of this point, as he is the best written character, and has many episodes dedicated to him and his state of mind as he participates in the Lion King Tournament, which has some of the best moments in this series. He has a complete character arc which wrapped up nicely with episode 21, he is a truly great character, along with the fact that he has influenced Rei Kiriyama as well. The show is great to look at as studio Shaft is known for being unique. It has great drama that has high stakes, great characters in the form of Shimada and Rei (among others), it is just pure bliss, brutally honest, great stuff right here.

Overall Score: 9.5/10

demi chan

Demi-chan wa Kataritai (Interviews With Monster Girls): Now this show took me by surprise to say the least. When I first saw this, I assumed this was going to be Monster Musume 2.0 (I’m assuming that is what most people thought as well) among other clichés. Despite A-1 Pictures doing this, it very much looks like it will stick together until the end. The main cast of girls are really likable and unique, in a show where I thought it would be cute girls doing cute things, although there are a few scenes that do have the girls doing cute things.

Now the one thing that really took me by surprise was the topics the show would talk about, which are various, but I will only talk about one of the topics: racism. It is addressed multiple times throughout the show and it really gives us viewers insight on what these monster girls (and monsters in this world in general) go through. It is a really interesting subject a show like this would touch on. Among other things is seeing the daily lives of these girls and how they do the basic necessities, as well as the show constantly expanding many ideas, which prevents it from being boring. Although it doesn’t wrap up for another 2 episodes, it is a good time, a chill time, and a true delight.

Overall Score: 7.5/10

Saga_Universal

Dragon Ball Super: The only long form series I will be talking about is Dragon Ball Super and the current arc, the Universal Survival Arc. So far based on what I’ve seen, this will probably be the best arc in Super, since only one other arc in this series I consider to be really good, the Future Trunks Arc. The title of this arc is self-explanatory, but the one thing I wanted to talk about is the true villain of this arc: Goku. Not Goku Black/Zamasu, the real Goku. He has essentially endangered every universe, trillions of lives, all because he is bored and called upon Zen-Oh to hold this tournament, not knowing that many universes will be destroyed. It is funny because Goku still doesn’t care despite knowing this. He is the villain in the eyes of every person from the other 11 universes, and he deserves to be looked at that way, since as of this moment, there is not definitive villain in this arc, though that may end up changing.

This is the most excited I’ve been with Dragon Ball Super ever since it began airing almost 2 years ago. It has only gotten more interesting in the recent episodes, plus the fact that Android 17 is returning soon is a plus. There isn’t a better time to get into Dragon Ball Super than now, get on it.

Overall Score: 7.5/10

scum shit

Kuzu no Honkai (Scum’s Wish): One of the more controversial shows of the season is this cesspool of love and junk, Scum’s Wish. I like it, but not as much as other people, probably because it makes me extremely uncomfortable, slimy, greasy after watching an episode. The characters are definitely interesting, seeing how they change and how they cope with the changes they make to themselves, plus the psyche of these characters are fascinating to look at. It is also great to look at, good job studio Lerche. I also praise this series for being very different and not being a typical romance series. I don’t have a whole ton to say about the show since it isn’t ending for another 2 episodes, and 2 episodes can make a difference in characters among other things. The point of this show is this: everyone sucks in this series, not in a bad way for the characterization they get, but in a literal way. But hey that may change in these last 2 episodes. Check it out, you may like it, but you also might hate it.

Overall Score: 7.5/10

little witch

Little Witch Academia: TRIGGER HAS SAVED ANIME AGAIN! Somewhat. Only 10 out of the 25 episodes have aired, but this show has been a fucking great time. Although it may change, I don’t like this as much as Kill la Kill, but 15 episodes can definitely make a difference. It is essentially Boku no Hero Academia, but with witches. The series may have not progressed so much in the plot in these first 10 episodes, but a bigger picture has been subtly hinted at. Many episodes are influenced by Disney, one being a Cinderella centered episode. The characters are all fun and unique and  just make me want to root for them, especially Akko. Most of the problems I had with the series were answered by episode 7, such as Akko finally being focused to chase her dream, and the fact that every episode up until that point had her getting various people in trouble. This show has been a fun ride so far, and I very much look forward to the rest of the trip. Update: The plot has just started up.

Overall Score: 8.5/10

rakugo

Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu: Sukeroku Futatabi-hen (Descending Stories: Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu): God this show is brutal for what it is covering in the form of old Japanese verbal entertainment. I dare say this is better than March comes in like a lion, which is already really fucking great. The rakugo performances are so good and reflect what topic the episode is handling, along with the fact that many characters in this series are very well written. It can make you feel good at one moment and make you feel like crying the next. Bon is a truly tragic character who deserves to be said in the same category of tragic anime characters like Emiya Kiritsugu from Fate/Zero. I feel for him man. It is funny because I am writing this as the next episode premieres in an hour. There is not much to say because you have to experience this for yourself, it can’t be explained in only words. Only 2 episodes remain, and I am not ready for what will happen. Update: I’m rekt.

Overall Score: 10/10

tales-of-zestiria-banner

Tales of Zestiria the X 2nd Season: Wow this 2nd season of Zestiria sucks. Like really sucks. I didn’t have a problem with the 1st season, I thought it was pretty decent, but nothing amazing or anything I haven’t seen before was in that show. The first half of season 2 put the spotlight on one character for 6 episodes in a 12 episode series, Rose. She is a good character, well obviously since she got 6 FUCKING EPISODES OF CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. Look the problem I have with this is that because she got good character development, other characters didn’t, like the seraphim. A show that did the same thing except that it balanced it well was 3-gatsu no Lion, which focused on the side characters more in the second cour without deteriorating other side characters like the sisters, who the show checked up on in the second half every now and then despite them not getting the spotlight like they had in the first cour of the show. THE FUCKING SERAPHIM SHOULD HAVE HAD MORE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT AND THEY GOT DETERIORATED BECAUSE ZESTIRIA DECIDED TO FOCUS ON JUST ONE SIDE CHARACTER AND NOT THE OTHER SIDE CHARACTERS.

Then the pacing for the show goes from stupid slow to insanely fast paced starting with episode 9 and the series has been going downhill ever since, with episode 10 being a mess of character development that sucked despite this one certain character not getting really any development at all in previous episodes. Ideals that were focused on are thrown out the window, and the ending is becoming paramount. Episode 10 has so many problems I can talk about, including the finale currently being rushed to face the final boss who has appeared only one other time in the series. The only praise I can give for the recent episode is that it looks pretty, the fight scenes are fucking incredible, and Alisha armatizes, which is a great payoff for one of the only good characters in the show. Other than that it is slowly collapsing with only two episodes left, and Zestiria is digging itself in a hole it will probably not get out of.

Overall Score: 5/10

This was very fun to blog about. I will definitely do it again. Next time I will talk about the shows I dropped during the season, as well as what I put on hold for the time being. Thank you for reading and see you next time.

Leave a Reply

