Spring Season 2017 Anime Preview

Here is the chart of the anime I looked at for this season: http://anichart.net/Spring-2017

Winter has come to a close and Spring has begun. Even though last season was pretty decent (in my opinion), the Spring season is where most of the hype shit airs for the year (this can also apply to the Summer season), and where you can possibly find a new hit anime series or two. Just a heads up, I will not be talking about Attack on Titan S2 since I want to watch it when it’s over, not while it is airing, since some shows are better to binge than to watch weekly. I like to look for new shows to watch each season more than anything, rather than saying “OMFG SEASON 69 OF BOKU NO PICO IS COMING THIS SEASON”, though I will be watching a few sequels this season.

So this is my season preview. Some of the stuff I will talk about will possibly be good, bad, or a masterpiece even. I may drop or put on-hold some of these shows I will talk about as the season goes on, but it is clear that this will be an entertaining season. So time to speculate the living shit out of this season!

Screenshot (24)Screenshot (25)Screenshot (26)Screenshot (27)Screenshot (28)Screenshot (29)Screenshot (30)Screenshot (31)Screenshot (32)Screenshot (33)Screenshot (34)Screenshot (35)Screenshot (36)Screenshot (37)

Alice to Zouroku: J.C. Staff had some shows I liked last year (Flying Witch and Amanchu!, though they were both Iyashikei anime) and a show I thought was trash (Taboo Tatoo). But besides shows that J.C. Staff did last year, Alice to Zouroku looks like it could be a hidden gem for the season since it sounds pretty interesting. The series has some young girls hold a power called “Alice’s Dream”, which has the ability to make their dreams come true, but they have been captured and are now research subjects. But apparently, one of the girls has a unique power that can disregard the laws of physics and she can physically manifest anything she can imagine from just thin air. NOW THAT SOUNDS LIKE A BROKEN POWER! I’m literally just reiterating what the preview says, but hey it sounds different and unique, so I’m game.

ATOM: THE BEGINNING: I know nothing about Astro Boy, but ATOM: THE BEGINNING is apparently a prequel to the Astro Boy series. I’m more than likely going to drop this after a few episodes since it has the Mecha/Sci-Fi tag, which are two of my least favorite genres in anime. It is by Production I.G, so it could be a hit-or-miss in my opinion.

Boku no Hero Academia 2: I’m really excited for this. I’ve been reading this series weekly since around Chapter 30, and the first season was very well done, so good job to BONES for doing an excellent first season. I know for a fact they will do an even better job with season two, but I am curious if they are just adapting one arc or two arcs, because if they are doing two arcs, after the first arc, the second arc is FUCKING HYPE! Very much looking forward to this.

Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism: This series looks like trash from just the description, genres, and promotional image. Silver Link. is weird. They have put out some shows that I thought were OK (Watamote and Shomin Sample), but they also put Masamune-kun no Revenge, which is trash, among other series. The action will just be meh most likely, since it is probably just going to have scenes with just swordfighting and other bullshit, which is fine, but not enough. The girls ruling over the boys with weapons may be funny, but it could also fall flat. This series just sounds plain. It also sounds like a fucking harem. If it doesn’t intrigue me in the first episode, it’s gonna get dropped faster than a baby on it’s head.

CLOCKWORK PLANET: I don’t have much to say on this since there isn’t much info on this show (the description of this show somewhat lacking and doesn’t tell much), other than it is done by a shitty studio (Xebec). But hey, a planet that is essentially a machine, that sounds pretty cool, enough for me to watch the first episode, but the sci-fi may turn me off.

eromanga sensei: Oh no. First off, do not start off the description of a show by calling it the “new sibling romantic comedy”, just no. What?! A-1 Pictures is doing this series as well, fuck me. Wait what?! It is by the same guy who did Oreimo, which is another incest brother-sister series?! Yeah I hate myself, so I’m watching the first episode, then most likely dropping it.

Fukumenkei Noise: This series is already better than Fuuka since it sounds like it no Truck-kun is in it (apparently the anime of Fuuka took out the Truck-kun death). Music series really pique my interest, since BECK Mongolian Chop Squad is one of my favorite anime series. Brains Base is a good studio and I have faith that I will like this series since it looks like it has a decent romance plot to it as well, plus I like listening to good music, and this anime will most likely have it.

KABUKIBU!: Well, this sounds different. Studio DEEN has been on a roll since the beginning of 2016 with great shows such as KonoSuba, Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu, and Haven’t You Heard? I’m Sakamoto, and 2017 has been good to them already with the second seasons of KonoSuba and Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu. I know absolutely nothing about kabuki, but I am definitely going to give it a shot, just gotta watch and see I guess.

Oushitsu Kyoushi Haine: The premise sounds really entertaining, plus the fact that I need a new comedy to watch weekly since KonoSuba is over. A tutor teaching four princes, this sounds like it would have some hints of Golden Boy, which is very educational. I hope this is as educational as Golden Boy, because if it is, then this will be a blast of joy.

Re:CREATORS: Now this is interesting for the sole fact that the creator of Black Lagoon is the concept and character designer. Now I know this has the mecha tag, but Black Lagoon is a favorite of mine, and I am willing to give this series a serious shot. But hey with joy, sadness, anger, deep emotion plus gods being in this series, I’m in.

Renai Boukun: It is literally a rip-off of Death Note. Kiss Note?! Come on. The one part I like about the description is the fact a yandere is in this series, which we rarely see nowadays. But yeah, it’s probably going to suck.

Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Kinki Kyouten: Oh hey, it’s our generic light novel magic high school series for the season. The plot sounds really boring, nothing new, just sounds like the same old shit.

Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata Flat: Here we have the second season of Saekano: How to Raise a Boring Girlfriend. The first season was alright, I enjoyed some aspects of the show such as the boring girlfriend, Megumi Katou, who was probably the only likable character of the show, since every other character was generic as fuck. But the first season was enjoyable enough to a point to where I am watching the second season, so yeah, looking forward to it, hopefully it doesn’t fall apart like most A-1 Pictures shows do.

SAGRADA RESET:  Another show that might be a hidden gem, it is a reset time anime series, which are very common nowadays. It sounds like it is going to be a fantasy/sci-fi/mystery series based on the premise, but that worries me since I’ve started to grow to hate mystery series more and more ever since Erased aired last year. This guy named Kei Asai  has the ability to remember anything he hears or sees, while a girl named Misora Haruki can turn back or “reset” time for up to three days. It is by David Production, the guys who did JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure, so this may end up being a really good series, we just have to wait and see.

SAKURA QUEST:  I’ve never seen Shirobako, which apparently takes a giant look at how to make an anime series. SAKURA QUEST takes a look at Japan’s tourism industry and economy, which is very different and sounds like it would be an informative series to watch. It may end up being boring, but these types of shows may not be for everyone. Hopefully I like it, because it sounds really good.

Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii desu ka?: This sounds a little bit interesting. When I saw the line Leprechauns in this series, it intrigued me, but they may not be Leprechauns, that might just be the name given to these little girls, plus the fact that ancient weapons are in this series, which furthered my intrigue. The description sounds a little bit generic, but from what I’ve heard from light novel readers, it’s apparently pretty fucking dark, and I like my dark/tragic stories, so I will definitely try this series out.

sin Nanatsu no Taizai:  Geez, this definitely doesn’t sounds like the manga series Nanatsu no Taizai (The Seven Deadly Sins) by Nakaba Suzuki. Yeah this series is going to suck, I can tell, especially with the fact that it sounds bland and is an ecchi series.

Tsugumomo: I don’t know much about the manga series, but I’ve heard about. It sounds pretty generic since it, from the looks of it, has a harem, plus ecchi. I don’t have too high hopes for this anime, the plot sounds average and nothing special, but it could surprise me, but I highly doubt it would, we’ll see.

Tsuki ga Kirei: I don’t have much to say on this either, since there is not much information on this series since it is an anime original. It just sounds like a slice-of-life series. That’s it. The description is literally a boy and a girl meeting and them growing together. It needs more depth than that, but it could be a joy possibly.

Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho: Now this is something I am anticipating very highly. It is by the studio who did my favorite anime of last year, Re:Zero. White Fox has also done Akame ga Kill!, Steins;Gate, and The Devil is a Part Timer. The reason why I am interested in this series is because it is another light novel adaptation White Fox is doing, and the last one they did, well, look what it turned into, plus the fact that the Japanese title for this series almost sounds like Re:Zero. The plot sounds pretty decent, kinda average, but interesting enough. It’s about a witch named Zero and a half-beast mercenary, who apparently wants to become human. Zero is trying to look for this book called “The Book of Zero”, which has a power that can destroy the world. A high-stakes fantasy series by White Fox, I’m sold.

Little Witch Academia: This series will be entering its second cour starting next Sunday, and the plot for this has definitely started to kick in. Not much to say other than this is a blast of fun, I enjoy it every week, and it is time to sit back and enjoy the rest of the ride. Good job Trigger.

Souryo to Majiwaru Shikiyoku no Yoru ni: Hey, a romance series between a hot woman and a priest. Five minutes of hot ecchi shit between these two, I’m game, been a while since I’ve seen a good anime short series.

FAIRY TAIL: DRAGON CRY: The manga for Fairy Fail is hot garbage, pure trash. Please let this series die once and for all after this movie, I’m literally reading this series just to see how it ends since I’ve invested too much time into this fucking bullshit.

That is all the stuff I’m going to be watching for this anime season. Some stuff sounds good, others sound like real trash that I’ll drop real fast. There are other movies like BLAME! Movie and Yoake Tsugeru Lu no Uta that sound interesting, but I’m too lazy to write my predictions on those movies. Anyways, that is all for today, thank you for reading this Spring preview. If I didn’t write my thoughts on a show, I probably didn’t care much for it (FUCKING BORUTO).

Leave a Reply

