Spring Season 2017 Anime First Impressions

Fuck this blog post is really late. Yeah me not getting this blog post out earlier is due to a combination of being lazy and me watching the entire the Kara no Kyoukai film series (which is fucking brilliant). So I let a few weeks pass by to let a few episodes for anime I thought were interesting to build-up, and now I’ll give my piece on them. Not going to lie, this season did not start off strong when stuff started premiering last week. For the first half of last week, most of the shows airing were somewhat of a letdown or just straight up sucked balls. But then Thursday happened, and that is when many good anime started to come out, and it has arguably stayed that way since last Thursday. Though some disappointments have arisen, this season has met my expectations somewhat, as it looks like most of the anime I will be sticking with this season will be consistent with the content it has.

Most anime series airing this season have premiered, so I’ll be covering most of the anime that I said I would watch the first episode of. The anime I haven’t watched the first episode of include: Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism, CLOCKWORK PLANET, eromanga sensei, KABUKIBU!, ATOM: THE BEGINNING, and sin Nanatsu no Taizai, where I just didn’t have time to watch the first episode or I just heard it sucked and didn’t feel like wasting the energy to watch some trash. Despite all that, here are my thoughts on the anime that have aired this season so far:

Anime I’m Hyped About

Screenshot (37)

Boku no Hero Academia 2: Oh boy this season of Boku no Hero Academia is 25 episodes. BONES is going in on this series, and my goodness they will be adapting some really awesome material. The first two episodes have met my expectations and have done a good job with pacing this anime well, as the first episode was to introduce the next major part of the story, the U.A. Sports Festival arc, which started in episode 2. I don’t have much to say on this other than my favorite character gets most of the spotlight in this arc and is essentially a main protagonist moving forward throughout the series. It can only get better, so buckle up.

Screenshot (38)

Re:CREATORS: The best first episode of the season. Fight me. When you have the creator of Black Lagoon and the director of Fate/Zero in the same project, it will be a joyous time. Think of it as a reverse Re:Zero/KonoSuba. The characters from anime/video games are the people getting transported to a different world this time. The characters are interesting enough, the OST is badass, the fight scenes are directed with grace, it is fantastic. Plus the fact that the concept of “Gods” in this anime is fascinating. I can easily see this being the most popular series of the season, hell it may even end up being the most popular series to air this year. THE HYPE IS HERE!

Screenshot (39)

SAKURA QUEST: I didn’t expect to like this as much as I did. The first episode was good, but it was the second episode that really sold it for me. What sold me was the atmosphere and the connections between the characters. There was a goal in the second episode (the goal was made very clear at the beginning of the episode) that the main character Yoshino had to accomplish, and to do that she and another one of the main female characters, Shirori, got a team of other women together to complete this goal.

It just all felt natural and it makes you think that something like this would happen in real life. The atmosphere is quaint and soothing, and it makes me want to see how a village like Mayonama will improve the struggling economy it is currently facing. I can’t stress this enough, but the characters in this show are just really solid and likable, and they are all three-dimensional characters. I’m seriously looking forward to what this anime has to offer, as this series can definitely be a contender for hidden gem of the season.

Anime I’m Most Likely Going to Continue Watching Throughout the Season (AKA Shows I Didn’t Drop or Put On-Hold)

Screenshot (40)

THIS YANDERE HAS MET MY EXPECTATIONS!

Renai Boukun: This anime is fucking crazy. God did this blow me out of the water, as I expected the first episode to suck, but boy was I wrong. First thing I want to note (no pun intended), this series is self-aware in a good way, as the series immediately made an impression with the batshit crazy execution of the comedy it is presenting. The comedy may not be for everyone (obviously) but I would at least give the first episode a watch, since I can’t put this show into words, it is something you must experience. One complaint I will give is that the second episode wasn’t as funny as the first episode, though it was still funny, but that worries me since I can see this series falling apart. But so far it has been entertaining.

Screenshot (41)

The only character in this series I think is really good, fight me m8!

Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata Flat: This is a safe sequel. For now (don’t let me down A-1). The self-aware humor is still kinda trash, but everything else about this sequel has been good so far, if you don’t the fanservice episode. The first episode was fine, as it just showed a flashback between how Eriri and Utaha first met. I don’t have much of an opinion on this flashback (and the episode in general) because the two people getting the flashback I think are just average characters, though Utaha is my second favorite character in this series. The flashback was good I guess. At least us viewers were shown how those two characters first met and how the relationship they had back then was sour, and compare it to now, where the two are subtly friendly. Good first episode to a fine series.

Screenshot (46)

Shuumatsu Nani Shitemasu ka? Isogashii desu ka? Sukutte Moratte Ii desu ka?: Potential. This anime has potential written all over it. It is very apparent that this anime will be tragic. I mean come on, I can see the main protagonist on this show bonding with the kids, since those kids are apparently weapons for the military. It was a good first episode that introduced us to the setting and characters in an organic way. Not much to say on the first episode other than it was good, and I’m looking forward to the ride. Update: episode 2 was good, tragedy will inevitably come, without question.

grimoire of zero

Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho: Alright so I’m convinced this is going to be nothing like Re:Zero in terms of the tragedy. That can also easily change, but I highly doubt it since this series is only 12 episodes. The one thing about this show that was amazing in the first episode was the character dynamic. I don’t know what it was, but it just clicked with me, most likely because it felt natural, and that is enough to sell me on a show. But besides that the other things going for the show like witches, “beastfallen”, and the magic/sorcery system is compelling enough for my taste. This can easily just be a slow anime and I would be fine with it, but hey that’s just my taste. Check out the first episode, and find out if it is truly good, or just another generic fantasy anime.

Anime I Put On-Hold

Alice to Zouroku: What a disappointment. The first episode was not that great, and the second episode was cute, and that’s it. The first episode was just a long snore-fest. The main character looked so dead/bored, that it made me bored. The old dude is cool I guess, and the powers that those kids have are fine, but I couldn’t tell what type of show it was trying to be. Plus the fact that some CG was implemented into this anime and it was awful. It is not something I personally want to watch weekly, so I’ll let it build it up and finish and hopefully watch at some point in the future.

Rokudenashi Majutsu Koushi to Kinki Kyouten: Holy crap this show has gotten popular. Look, I watched the first episode and thought it was mediocre with the generic setting and characters (main male MC is a copy of Kazuma for KonoSuba essentially) but people have been saying the past two episodes have been good. I just assumed it was going to be the generic light novel adaptation of the season, but apparently that is not the case. I don’t plan on watching it the rest of this season, but I’ll give it another shot once it is done. Also a quick note, those uniforms. Who the fuck designed those uniforms to be in a high school setting.

Seikaisuru Kado: Episode 0 and 1 for this series was pretty good. The concept was interesting, the characters were passable, it was unique, as I didn’t plan on watching this series originally. An anime essentially built on negotiations was interesting, and I had no qualms with much of those first two episodes, as it did what it did, even when some sci-fi elements were thrown into the mix. I recommend watching the first episode, since it is not bad. Even if the bits and pieces of CG thrown into this series was bad, when Toei isn’t using CG, it actually looks pretty good. The main reason why this is on-hold is the sole fact that this is a series that feels better suited to binge watch that watch weekly. Either way, not too shabby.

Tsuki ga Kirei: Middle school love. That is the first episode (and probably the entire series). The first episode was fine, but it was missing something. I don’t know what it was, because it was pretty bland/generic. It was cute, but that doesn’t cut a show for me. Can’t complain about the fact that I was like that in middle school, but that was years ago, so I don’t see every person relating to this. It is a show about character growth, which is good, but isn’t for me to watch right now, so I’ll wait for it to finish. It is a simple anime series, that is all.

Anime I Dropped

Fukumenkei Noise: This was bad. Where the fuck do I begin. It had shit CG, it felt forced, too melodramatic, music was average, characters sucked dick, like this series had to chill for a second, stop rushing. I know this is a shojo anime, and I don’t mind shojo, but STOP FORCING ALL THIS OVERDRAMATIC BULLSHIT IN THE FIRST EPISODE. What a fucking disappointment. I just feel like no music anime moving forward will compare to BECK, and that is mentality I’m going to have moving. First Fuuka, now this crap.

Oushitsu Kyoushi Haine: I thought this was going to be similar to Golden Boy. I was wrong. Comedy is subjective, and boy this was not funny. New tutor has to teach five royal good-looking prince dudes. They were so fucking unlikable, especially the tsundere prince. If a comedy doesn’t make me laugh at all in one episode, it’s not very good. A very easy skip.

SAGRADA RESET: THIS WAS SO FUCKING BORING. Easily the most disappointing anime of the season thus far, like Alice to Zouroku, THE CHARACTERS LOOK FUCKING BORED TO DEATH LIKE THEY DON’T WANT TO BE IN THIS SERIES. PLUS THE FACT THAT THEY TALKED AND TALKED AND TALKED FOR 24 MINUTES STRAIGHT WASN’T INTERESTING, IT WAS LAME. It was so meh that I just straight up decided to drop it. I don’t care about giving it another chance, because better anime series exist out in the world that do reset/time-travel better. I can’t even give it a simple summary because I’v already forgotten everything about the first episode and I don’t care about looking up that crappy information from those 24 minutes of shit. Pass.

Souryo to Majiwaru Shikiyoku no Yoru ni: I dropped it for the simple fact that it is simply Saitama in a hentai. This anime is a hentai. I won’t say I was surprised to see Saitama eating out a chick in the first episode. What do I say. It was fun, but I don’t care enough about this borderline hentai to continue watching it.

Tsugumomo:  I know this is a ecchi/harem, but I thought this might have been different, but once again, I was wrong. Instead of giving my thoughts on the first episode, I will share a picture below this text, which will explain the entire episode in a nutshell (and the entire anime/manga series most likely), and you will know why I dropped this anime, and why you should not watch it:

Screenshot (47)

THIS IS LESS THAN THREE MINUTES INTO THE FIRST FUCKING EPISODE! NAH FAM, I’M GOOD.

Well those are my first impressions on this anime season. Thank you for reading, and I’ll see you in the next one!

One thought on “Spring Season 2017 Anime First Impressions

  1. Pingback: Random Thoughts on Spring Season 2017 Anime, Binging Anime, and Probably Some Other Junk | Borderline Weeb Blog

Leave a Reply

