Random Thoughts on Spring Season 2017 Anime, Binging Anime, and Probably Some Other Junk

cat anime

Let me be very frank here: this anime season has been disappointing to me personally. I touched upon it slightly in my Spring Season 2017 Anime First Impressions, but my goodness, I have been really underwhelmed with this season. It may sound negative, and I don’t like to be negative all the time, but some of the anime airing this season I was hyped up for were just so mediocre that it killed some of my passion to watch weekly anime for this season.

I’m currently keeping up with nine anime from this season, which include: Boku no Hero Academia 2nd Season, Dragon Ball Super, Little Witch Academia, Re:Creators, Renai Boukun, Saenai Heroine no Sodatekata Flat, Sakura Quest, SukaSuka (WorldEnd: What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?), and Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho. If you take away the sequels and leftovers, that is only FIVE new shows that have personally interested me to keep watching past the first episode and so on. Most people will have different views on how they feel about anime each season, but my opinion stands: this season has been average at best. Because of the lack of new anime I’ve found entertaining this season, it led me to start binging more anime for the time being.

A person like me tends to procrastinate whenever I try to watch something from my backlog, but for the past week I’ve been on a kick. For example, it took me less than two days to watch the entire Kara no Kyoukai film series, and it felt so fucking satisfying to watch a masterpiece like that, especially since it is now in my top five favorite anime of all time. Another show I binged the crap out of was Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun, which was such a blast to watch, mostly because of the hysterical comedy and fun characters. One thing I will say is expect a blog post on Kara no Kyoukai in the near future. All of that was done within a week flat, and it was the most fun I had with anime in the past few months.

So yeah, just a few quick thoughts I wanted to throw out in the open. Psycho-Pass is up next on the binging list!

Leave a Reply

